Reflections about working from home

Hello, world!

I return to this blog on the fourth month of a quite chaotic year (and to think we’re not even halfway!).  I’m on my 25th day of self-isolation, as the city I live in (Jakarta) is currently experiencing a Covid-19 outbreak. The government has recommended self-isolation and work-from-home for companies, so here I am trying to figure out myself.

I realized that not having to face traffic and rush hour in the morning was a complete bliss. I would wake up at the same time I wake up on normal office days. I would spend my morning eating breakfast peacefully while sunbathing. There would still be time to load the laundry in the washing machine, or wash the dishes left overnight, or maybe just clean the kitchen a little. I would spend more time peacefully in the shower. Time is truly gold, and to be able to use the time, usually wasted on commuting, peacefully really eased my mind.

Not having to face traffic meant no need to face pollution nor the scorching sun rays. This did wonders to my skin: I had less breakouts, acne would typically go away faster, and my skin was notably brighter.

Being at home meant that I could cook fresh lunch and eat it right away, all in the span of a one-hour lunch break (I eat fast). It meant I was able to watch an episode of “Property Brothers” on HGTV, or play the piano, or maybe do the bingo templates available on Instagram.

Being at home meant I was able to take a coffee break during sunset and snack on anything that’s available in the fridge, without having to order it for delivery. It meant I was able to have dinner on-time, without having to hold the hunger in the bus during normal days. It meant more time to work on hobbies that I have abandoned for so long, rediscovering what I truly love and what I truly want to do.

But, nah, it sounds so utopic, right?

The thing is, working from home meant re-adjusting your work schedule. Work starts at 10 and ends at 6, but this distance meant that communication channels were digital. Hence, revisions, discussions, and such were moved to e-mails instead of usual talking meetings. It meant that when you have unfinished work, and you feel compelled to finish it, you finish it even if it makes you work longer hours. When working in the office, you are obliged to go home on a certain hour to not miss the bus home. Working from home, there is no bus to miss.

Working from home meant that your personal space and working space aren’t separated. My working space is right across my bed. To make it feel like work, I would dress up as if I’m actually going to office. I would put on my favorite perfume and tinted lip balm, so when the black screen reflects myself, I would see the ‘work’ version of me.

Working from home and being in self-quarantine really tests you as yourself. How do you manage your time? How do you separate spaces meant for resting and for working? How do you juggle housework and office work?  Are you really that discipline? Are you able to focus and not lose that concentration for a long period, in a place where distraction is all around you?

That book you’ve been writing? Why not write it now and pause office work for a while?

You haven’t touched watercolor painting in a while, right? Do it now, it’s almost the end of office hour.

Don’t you just crave a chocolate cake? You can still bake it, it’s still 15 minutes before office hour starts.

When I think it over, I’m quite lucky. I still have food in the kitchen. I still have money to survive until the next month. I live in my parents’ house, which is not that big, but my siblings and I each have our own bedrooms to work and spend time in. I have a ton of activities I can do during quarantine, because I hoard books and I have enough art supplies to last for another 3 years or so. My family members are all close and, as this quarantine goes on, we’ve subconsciously just went our separate ways after dinner into our own bedroom, because we’ve seen each other enough for the whole day.

But, as the day grows longer, I do sometimes pause work and look out the window (my work desk faces the window).

When will this crisis end? Will I able to get through it without getting infected? Will my office do a lay-off and, if so, will I have enough money to support myself?

We’ll see, I guess. ‘Til then, I’ll be back pondering what this whole life is.

 

xx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.