Minimalism

I’m racing with time into completing all themes in just one night. And why am I insisting to do this? When I write with my own words, I tend to remember more. Which is why, studying history requires much time of my life, because I have to re-write what I have in my notes, so I remember it. For me, the blog is an easy way to study history. I remember what I write, therefore I write when I study.

Ha! I should become a writer (?).

Our next theme is “art in space“. I don’t mean space in an aerospacial way.

  1. The unlimited or incalculably great three-dimensional realm or expanse in which all material objects are located and all events occur.
  2. The portion or extent of this in a given instance; extent or room in three dimensions: the space occupied by a body.

(source)

Movements that are included in this category are minimalism, land art, situationism, and installation art. In this post, I will discuss minimalism.

Minimalism is, as the name says, to reduce an object as minimal as possible. I have “what you see is what you get” written with an arrow directed to minimalism, and I agree with that. In minimalism, however, it should be as simple as possible, as literal as possible, as geometrical as possible, using the minimal amount of materials if necessary, and the minimal amount of context.

For example. Take a room and fill it with objects of the same artwork from the same artist, all of which the artworks featured are minimalist.

File:Juddconcrete 1.jpg

“Untitled” by Donald Judd (1980-1984)

That work might serve as land art for its intervention in nature, except that the materials used weren’t from nature or from the local area. The concrete works of Donald Judd feature cubical forms lined up in a similar way in an empty desert in Marfa, Texas. They originate from the same context, using the same type of materials, and the same form of objects. He used the minimal amount of diversity of context, materials, and objects, which later can we interpret it as minimalism.

Here’s an awesome page to understand minimalism in a humorous way: http://www.coffeewithanarchitect.com/2011/11/16/ten-representations-of-minimalism/

Personally, I like to see minimalist photos, with less objects distracting you from the focal point of the photo. But then, I would reject designing a minimalist space, because I am more of a home-feeling person. I like things a bit messy, because it signifies that there’s life in the space. Minimalist spaces just remind me of

  1. A dead space. I mean, seriously, they look dead. Unless you have servants cleaning up your almost empty room (remember, minimalism reduces the amount of furniture/objects/types of objects used), a room would not stay as clean.
  2. A clean freak. Someone who can’t stand even a speck of dust, or paper stacked on table, or loud paintings on the wall, or even a little bit of coffee stains.

I like clean, but I like to keep it more alive.

Does somebody live here? Certainly no. A kitchen must be clean, but this type of clean is a dead one. It looks like a surgery room in a hospital. And no, the scenery didn’t help either.

Japanese-Minimalist-Home-Design-House-N-11

Minimalist house by Sou Fujimoto.

The term all white and all illuminated seems really hospital-ish. However, adding the wood as another accent and planting trees in the garden helps recover the life of the space.

japanese-stage-house

The Stage House by TNA Architects.

Apart from the natural and harmonious color palette,  this gives a dead sensation to me. The house looks more like a showroom instead of a vacation house. I know that as a vacation house, you have to keep things simple because you’re not always there to clean the house on a daily basis. However, I guess it wouldn’t be too much if you add a little more vibe or life to the house. The scenery won’t help much if the space feels dead.

I guess what made me feel that those spaces are dead was the lack of vibe. There were no accents. If you think putting up a minimalist space facing a dense forest on the face of your window would live up the space, then I wouldn’t agree with you. Add another accent that is much warmer, or much lively, than what you have in your color or material palette. A painting wouldn’t hurt your view, nor a single wall in a different color, nor a uniquely-shaped sofa in between the uniformity among the other furniture.

It won’t hurt.

I tell you, I’m sticking with keeping things livelier.

Leave a Reply

