Pop Culture (1)

As I had always been doing, before starting on a new theme, I would rewrite the notes I took in class as to make sure that what I will be discussing would not go on the wrong path. I mean, I sometimes fall asleep during class (my fault for lack of sleep) and during this 1-5 minutes cessation, I missed important things pointed out by the professor, which I would have to look up from other resources.

So, yes. Pop culture, otherwise known as popular culture, is the theme which I should had written two months ago.

Popular (adv): regarded with favor, approval, or affection by people in general

Culture (noun): the behaviors and beliefs characteristic of a particular social, ethnic, or age group

(source)

After attending this class, I can confidently use my own words to describe pop culture as “a movement or culture in which the objects and works produced are accepted and used by people in general”. Before this class, I would describe pop culture as “retro“, and with this image:

Why? The 60s inspired my fashion style during my middle school years.

oops

And, fortunately for me, this is the only photo I have that shows my retro fashion style during those years living in Singapore. Well, no one can blame me. 2007 and 2008 were the years where retro flourished once more, geometrical patterns reigning in the runways of fashion brands, which then rapidly took hold of the fashion market, especially the vintage ones. Dresses were colorful, hues of bright colors were the trend. I remember perfectly that everywhere in Singapore during those years you could easily spot racks of dresses with floral and geometric patterns hanging at any shop available.

Diane von Furstenberg S/S 2007

Kenzo S/S 2007

Etro S/S 2007

I might not be a fashion expert and all that, but these three images represented the three brands that had the most impact on me in 2007. 2007 was the year where I slowly started growing out of my shell and started dressing up (yes, I was a tomboy) and 2007 was the year where I finally saw beautiful clothes in shops.

I mean it. Seriously.

Before, there were pointed heels, cropped cardigans with tank tops and mini skirts.. basically things I wouldn’t wear and did not wear, until came by 2007 with their glorious inspired-by-the-60s-and-70s look. Oh, don’t forget the floral patterns, too.

And why was I so conscious  about luxury brands when I was only ending middle school and entering high school at that time? Simple. I passed almost every weekend in Orchard Road (well, just passing by and, you know, read Japanese comics in Kinokuniya) where luxury boutiques lined-up the facades of malls, one beside another.

I know that pop culture continues to inspired the fashion world (and the design world, too!) up until now, but what stroke me most was the fashion of 2007. Vintage at its best. Haji Lane as a shopping paradise. I’m not even trying to promote Singapore here, but I can’t help but feel a little nostalgic about the fashion scene there. The retro and floral fashion scene pushed me to like fashion. I did not regret it, though.

Leave a Reply

